Tomahawks Alumni Compete for WCHA Title

Mar 17, 2016

The Johnstown Tomahawks are well-represented in the Western Collegiate Hockey Association’s Final Five Tournament, a premier college hockey event.

Held at the Van Andel Arena in Grand Rapids, Mich., the Final Five is a two-day tournament (March 18 and March 19),  as the four winning teams from the previous playoff series compete for the Broadmoor Trophy and an automatic berth in the NCAA Tournament.

Minnesota State-Mankato is looking to win its third consecutive Broadmoor Trophy. In 2015, former Tomahawks defenseman Casey Nelson and the Mavericks defeated Michigan Tech for their second consecutive championship.

The Mavericks are once again a top contender in the Final Five tournament, earning a No. 2 seed in the event.

Michigan Tech comes in as the one seed for the tournament and will face four seed Ferris State. Former Tomahawks forward Trevor Recktenwald earned six points (two goals, four assists) in 18 games played for the Bulldogs.

The Huskies and Bulldogs square off Friday night at 7:37 p.m.

Shane Bednard and the Bowling Green Falcons (a three seed in the tournament) are prepared to face Mankato and Nelson at 4:07 p.m. on Friday.

Bednard registered nine assists for the Falcons and has been a contributor throughout the balance of the season.

Nelson has received attention from the National Hockey League as he is one of the best collegiate free agents available this summer. Additionally, the Wisconsin Rapids, Wisc., native earned the honor of WCHA Defensive Player of the Year and tallied 21 points (five goals, 16 assists) in 38 games.

The championship game for the Final Five Tournament is scheduled for Saturday, March 19 at 6:07 p.m.

The Tomahawks wish all of our alumni the best of luck in the tournament!