Tomahawks Tab Chris Trouba as Next Captain

Sep 13, 2018

JOHNSTOWN – The Johnstown Tomahawks, proud members of the North American Hockey League, announced its leadership group ahead Friday’s regular season opener at Wilkes-Barre/Scranton.
Three-year defenseman Chris Trouba has been named team captain. The Auburn Hills, Mich., native collected two goals and 13 assists in 85 games played over two seasons in Johnstown.
“Chris is entering his third season and has shown growth as a player and a person in each season, head coach Mike Letizia said. “He his someone who commands respect with his approach day in and day out. He is willing to go to war for his teammates and pick them up when needed, but also not afraid to hold them accountable either. He has shown the willingness to take charge of our group on and off the ice and is very deserving.”
Assistant captains for this season include three returners and one newcomer.
Veteran forwards Sam Solensky, Mitch Hale and defenseman Carter Dwyer will serve as Trouba’s assistant captains while new Tomahawks forward Colin Price rounds out the leadership group and will also wear an “A.”
“Sammy, Mitchell, Carter, and Colin will be great assistant captains because they all demonstrate unique leadership qualities in different ways and are well respected by their teammates,” Letizia said. “We feel that these young men are a great core of a leadership group but we expect everyone in our room to have a leadership personality and high character.”
“We are excited about the players that have been chosen as captains for the 2018-2019 season. We feel there is a lot of leadership within our team and a lot of guys that will be able to demonstrate the standards that we would like to conduct this year with or without a letter.”
The Tomahawks open the 2018-19 regular season schedule on the road at Wilkes-Barre/Scranton on Friday, Sept. 14 at 4:30 p.m.
Johnstown returns to 1ST SUMMIT ARENA for its home opener on Friday, Oct. 5 as they host the Jamestown Rebels. Super Bowl MVP and Steelers fan favorite Hines Ward will be on hand to drop the ceremonial first puck.